COVID-19 Update: We are open and serving our clients. Learn More >>>

Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security Releases Accident Statistics

The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security (TNSH) works to serve, secure, and protect people in the state. A part of their duties includes compiling statistics and data regarding the rates of accidents in Tennessee. The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports that road traffic accidents are a leading cause of death. The TNSH addresses these safety concerns and implements measures to mitigate the dangers to people in the state.

While 2020 saw a .3% decrease in accidents, there has been a nearly 11% increase in Tennessee crashes from 2020 to 2021. According to data, the summer months, specifically July and August, show the highest rate of crashes. The majority of accidents involve a senior driver between the ages of 65 and 99 years old. Further, other leading causes of accidents in the state include drivers under the influence of alcohol or drugs and distracted drivers. Moreover, an overwhelming number of Tennessee car accidents involve unbelted occupants.

It is no surprise that these accidents can have a devastating toll on accident victims and their families. Accident victims are often left with significant medical bills related to the incident. At the same time, being unable to work during the recovery process makes it even harder to cover these expenses. While insurance may cover some costs, the coverage rarely covers the extent of an accident victim’s damages. As such, it is critical that Tennessee car accident survivors and their loved ones recoup the compensation they deserve.

Tennessee maintains a series of statutes that may pose challenges to victims wishing to recover damages after an accident. A critical statute is the Tennessee damages cap for non-economic damages. Non-economic damages typically refer to subjective non-monetary losses such as emotional distress, inconvenience, and pain and suffering. The Tennessee legislature placed a $750,000 cap for non-economic damages. However, accidents involving severe burns, amputation, wrongful death of a minor child’s parent, and paralysis related to spinal cord injuries have a slightly higher cap at $1 million.

Further, unlike many other states that maintain a two-year statute of limitations, Tennessee requires that plaintiffs file their claims within one year of the injury giving rise to the claim. Additionally, the state has a series of restrictions when a claim involves the negligence of the state government or its employees. In these situations, the claimants still have one year to file their claims. However, it is essential to note that claimants who receive an automatic denial of compensation have ninety days to appeal their claims.

Have You Suffered Injuries in a Car Accident in Tennessee?

If you or someone you love has suffered injuries in a Tennessee car accident, contact the Hartsoe Law Firm for assistance. Attorney Hartsoe is a premier Tennessee injury attorney and has received many accolades for his service and representation of his clients across the state. The law firm handles claims stemming from Tennessee motor vehicle accidents, premises liability, medical malpractice, elder abuse, and products liability. Mr. Hartsoe maintains an active practice working on behalf of Tennessee injury victims to ensure that they secure the compensation they deserve. To learn more, contact the Knoxville injury law firm at 865-524-5657 to schedule a free initial consultation.

 

Contact Information